SuziCate's Musings

Something Different

 “love builds up the broken wall

and straigtens the crooked path.

love keeps the stars in the firmament

and imposes rhythm on the ocean tides

each of us is created of it

and i suspect

each of us was created for it” ~Maya Angelou

IMG_5568

 

I don’t usually participate in these things, but since  I was caught on a slow day…and I’m honored to be nominated for this Liebster Award. Thank you, Nicolas Guy Williams. Here are my answers to his questions.

1 : what inspires your creativity most ?

Nature. All I have to do is get outside or go for a walk and words and images rise within me.

2: which is your favourite sense (ie: taste; scent; sound etc … ) ?

I don’t know that I can pick one. I enjoy the delights of all my senses. But since you’re making me choose, I will say touch. I enjoy texture; rough wood, smooth silk, cold stone beads…and the human touch; there is nothing more soothing than giving or receiving a hug.

3: what kind of life would you like to live if you could choose any?

A simple life in the country. I’d like to wake up to birdsong and be far away from roaring trucks and sirens. I dream of getting up with no agenda but to write, walk in the woods, sit on the creek bank, and work the land at my leisure.

4: what is your favourite passage from your favourite book ?

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.” To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

5: do you have a favourite artist ?

As far as famous artists, it Vincent Van Gogh (Starry Night) Otherwise, it is a gifted young woman who happens to be the daughter of a good friend. I think this young lady has incredible talent and hope she follows her dreams. And I also consider photography art…my favorite photographer is my husband.

6 : do you prefer shoes or bare feet on grass ?

Bare feet, unless I’m in an area known for sand burrs.

7: how important are your dreams ?

My dreams are important, but so are the dreams of my family. As much as I have things I’d like to accomplish, I think I’d receive more pleasure watching the people I love follow their passions.

8: what is the longest time you’ve had writer’s block and how did you get out of it?

I don’t know that I’ve ever had writer’s block as it seems I always have something rolling around in my head; I just don’t always choose to put pen to paper and share it. As far, as writing poetry or other works, probably ten years while my children were small; yet even then, I wrote in my head.

9: what is your favourite colour?

I’ve always loved purple. I find it passionate and creative. I feel good wearing it or having it around me. My favor to is shifting with the same affection toward aqua these day. The aqua doesn’t energize me as much as purple but gives me a peaceful calm.

10 : which word makes you giggle?

Nincompoop –it sounds so silly when it is spoken aloud.

11: do you like tea?

I do enjoy tea, both hot and cold. The problem is tea doesn’t especially like me…makes it annoying though I greatly enjoy the taste of it, especially a spicy flavored tea.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

