SuziCate's Musings

Night Moves

Old homeplace beneath the stars

I, who am afraid

of owl screeches  and coyote howls,

follow you into the cold,

dark night. You point

to Lyra and Cygnus, diamonds

of the Milky Way, sparkling

across the velvet shawl. As

the bobcats hiss, growl, and scream

like angry old women, I offer

you my hand as if

it were a torch.

Comments on: "Night Moves" (14)

  1. Oh, my goodness, I do love this! I had never heard coyotes until I lived in Utah. Their sound thrills me. I love our owl who lives in the tall pine tree just north of the house. But I was you as I read this, and I felt the fear of the sounds in the dark.

  2. Good job. Love it and the picture is perfect!

  3. I felt as if I were there with you Suzicate. We don’t have coyotes here but we do have a special hawk who call out his own name morepork https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=I4QWKo_7IN4

  4. Sorry, the morepork is an owl not a hawk.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

