SuziCate's Musings

Soft As A Song


I’m looking for a cushion of air,
a place to catch my fall,
I don’t want to care.
I’m not listening for the call.

Oh, the hours I waste
wondering what to do.
This life, I have but a taste;
just enough to get me through.

There must be a way I can be freed
from the pinning of this wall.
Your softness is what I need,
you holding me as I fall.

My days are far from done
as I’m learning to ride with the wind.
This isn’t easy for a stubborn one
who doesn’t know how to bend.

I’m looking for a cushion of air,
a place to catch my fall,
I don’t want to care.
I’m not listening for the call.

It is lost, this rest, this sleep,
for those of us who fly high
and plunge into the deep
while we continue asking why.

There must be a way I can be freed
from the pinning of this wall.
Your softness is what I need,
you holding me as I fall.

Demons wander through the night.
I shudder. Life is not fair.
But you, you fill my life with light;
You are my cushion of air.

Time seems so wide
when I feel so small.
Yet, you are at my side,
because you hear my silent call.

You, soft as a song singing in the night,
cradle and smooth my every fall.
You hold me until the world is right
and I no longer feel so small.

Comments on: "Soft As A Song" (1)

  1. the thread of love and a peace beyond understanding that runs through this is remarkable.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

