SuziCate's Musings

Taste Of Sorrow

I have felt sorrow

with it’s threatening claws

ripping me to shreds and swallowing

one bite at a time

I have felt the weight, like swamp sludge,

pinning my arms and legs,

til I am aware of nothing

but the pounding of my heart

My heart drums like a woodpecker

Tap, tap, tap, echoing

through a forest of toppled trees

Sorrow tastes like hard bitter persimmons

Just a touch to the tongue,

drawing my lips and cringing my spirit

to where water doesn’t soothe but swells

Sorrow crashes upon the soul like a car wreck

and stalls like a weather front

until the heart decides to live again

When the pitter of gentle rains loosens

the stronghold, you emerge renewed –

For you have learned to bend

like the arc of a rainbow

When you rise and meet the blue of sky

be sure to claim every color

under the shining sun

Comments on: "Taste Of Sorrow" (8)

  1. Emotion and imagery you write very well. You describe the journey from sorrow to emergence from it, as it should be, with hope. Grief hurts. Yet, we survive and grow. Blessings to you, Suzi…

  2. Great metaphor, simile and imagery. For me those are the ingredients for a good poem and makes it superior to most.

  3. Again this poem speaks to sorrow I felt when I was loosing my late husband to cancer and after when he died. You describe it so well. Much better than saying the pillow top was drenched with tears. You do a better job of showing where I want to just tell.
    Again I want to ask if I can have this poem for my memoir? I am not writing much on it these days. Am working on posts for my blog and also on another children;s book.
    It’s easier than my memoir. Do you find solace in writing these poems?

    • I might actually be using this one in one of my WIPs. I do find solace though thisone was written in perspective after the fact.

  4. As Carol says there is hope at the end. I need to concentrate more on that in my memoir. At the time I didn’t feel hope or light. I felt darkness only.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

