SuziCate's Musings

Spiritual Unrest

It was an inner itching, a yearning, an uneasiness,
this emptiness inside me that ached and roared.
I did not know I was in a state of spiritual unrest.

The gnawing told me I needed to begin a quest.
I was clueless. I was dead. I was totally floored.
It was an inner itching, a yearning, an uneasiness.

I was hopeless, and confused, a total mess
as my head and heart argued, emotions poured.
I did not know I was in a state of spiritual unrest.

Within this turmoil, I knew Iโ€™d never find rest,
so I started with all the questions I had ignored.
It was an inner itching, a yearning, an uneasiness.

This thing I was missing I had never guessed.
I had simply surmised that my soul was bored.
I did not know I was in a state of spiritual unrest.

With inner peace and freedom Iโ€™ve been blessed
as my life, love, hope and grace have all soared.
It was an inner itching, a yearning, an uneasiness;
I did not know I was in a state of spiritual unrest.

Comments on: "Spiritual Unrest" (8)

  1. Wonderfully written villanelle. Its wonderful as a poem and as a villanelle both.

    I have joined this site as a co-author ๐Ÿ™‚ will love to see you there.

    in its sister blog i am writing haikus- chasing my love.
    http://sharmishthabasu.wordpress.com

  2. Beautiful villanelle..

    “It was an inner itching, a yearning, an uneasiness;
    I did not know I was in a state of spiritual unrest.”…
    best lines ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. writing haikus can become an obsession for a nature lover like you and me.

  4. Nice lines! Drawing inspiration from you, I have started an English poetry blog. I would be blessed if you could visit my blog http://www.periwinkler.wordpress.com and post your frank comments on my posts ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

