SuziCate's Musings

An Autumn Song

 I am the crisp breeze

that splatters your soul

with myriad hues of scarlet and gold.

 

I am a cantata of leaves

that serenade and cajole

with words unspoken, secrets untold.

 

I am the pitter and patter

of soft falling rain

upon the brown decaying ground.

 

I am the heart of the matter,

the joy and pain

of all this green, life once found.

 

I am past summer’s end;

not quite winter’s death,

but life’s chosen state of rest.

 

I am the gentle bend

of that exhilarating breath

reaching nature’s vibrant crest.

 

I beckon you to wait and see

for all that is to come and be

 

This poem is featured at Jingles Poetry Potluck today. Prompt is Nature: Plants, Creatures, and the Cosmos.

Purpose

 Illuminated by starry sky

Grounded by grass at my feet

I can’t help but wonder why

The truth of nature is discreet

 

I often try to outrun the wind

Or prophesy age by rings of trees

But I always end where I begin

for not all is measured in degrees

 

 I swim the rivers wide and deep

And leave my tracks in ivory snow

I scribble in the sand when I sleep

And when I wake I still don’t know

 

 I hear it not in faint whispers in wind

Nor in coyote howl or lion roar

I look high and low, round every bend

Nor do I salvage it in ancestral lore

 

 Brown plume of ash and rising steam

That dusted forth upon the dawn of time

Has not fossilized enough for me to glean

The answers I await, that one cosmic sign

 

And so I continue to wonder why I am here

I’ll stretch and search until the flames die down,

Until the tingling of my soul is no longer fear,

Until the intention of my being has been found

 

 So I pause between milky way and milky weed

anticipating alignment and synchronicity that say

It is right here, all that you ever want or need,

                       resting in every moment between dusk and rising day

 It slumbers within mountains, rivers, and plains

It is the sacred secret that vibrates in every bone

Beneath all that’s left of time’s charred remains,

The answer lurks, an ancient hymn written in stone

Comments on: "A Little Bit Of The Natural World" (26)

  1. “I am a cantata of leaves

    that serenade and cajole” I LIKE!!!
    I read your name “water witch’s daughter” lol and taught of the water Godness from Haiti known as Simbi…hello Simbi 🙂
    Happy Potluck!
    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2010/10/16/the-farming-of-nature/

  2. Luke Prater said:

    ‘myriad hues’ – ‘cantata of leaves’ – lovely language, Suzi. I love that you started out in tercets, kinda wish you’d stayed in ’em! hehe. Very nice piece

    Warmest Salad

    Luke

    (mine are here –
    http://lukepraterswordsalad.wordpress.com/2010/11/26/descent-2/
    http://lukepraterswordsalad.wordpress.com/2010/05/06/64/
    http://lukepraterswordsalad.wordpress.com/2010/05/30/mud-pies/

  3. you have beautiful wonders,

    breath taking imagery, thanks for beaming at JP ..
    Happy Monday.
    xxx

  4. Nice pair, SuziCate!

    (Wait, that didn’t sound right)

  5. Beautiful poems, Suzi. The second in particular really spoke to me.

  6. for some reason the first poem spoke to me especially, nature’s gentleness and vibrancy both captured beautifully; favourite lines:

    breeze
    that splatters your soul
    with myriad hues of scarlet and gold.

    I am a cantata of leaves…

  7. ‘It is the sacred secret that vibrates in every bone

    Beneath all that’s left of time’s charred remains,’

    Yes, and except that I wonder whether it can be called ‘sacred’, that wonderful secret will forever remain so.
    It is encouraging that, very gifted poet as you are, you apparently are not interested in squabbles over competing hypotheses that attempt to answer the unanswerable, but can help us rejoice in what can be known!

  8. You have a great way with words… I enjoyed it.
    like in the beginning…
    ‘ I am the crisp breeze
    that splatters your soul’
    how beautiful….
    Thanks for sharing..

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  9. signed .............bkm said:

    Very nice Suzi…love the “milky way and the milky weed”….blessings…saw your Christmas tree on facebook….lovely….

  10. You have such beautiful imaginations…
    Wonderful poems both.. 🙂

  11. I’m taking a break on this Friday afternoon and reading your poetry for the past few days. I love Autumn Song! I can see the visions of fall colored leaves, the chill in the air, the taste of winter…yet therein lies the hope of another day of spring! Lovely.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

