SuziCate's Musings

Contemplation Of The Smoker

The Smoker – Vincent Van Gogh

Did he smoke away his troubles

Or merely contemplate his life?

Were his day filled with joy and love

Or long hard labor and strife?

 

Maybe he was simply thankful

For those who had passed his way

Maybe he was resting and reflecting

The passing of another day

 

Maybe he toiled the sustaining  fields

And came home to the aroma of a meal

Maybe he roamed the countryside

And living by chance was his deal

 

Maybe he provided for family

Using strength of muscle and bone

Or perhaps he was a solitary man

Who spent his nights alone

 

Maybe he was a faceless man

Simply living life like you or me

Doing the best he could each day

And reaching for all that he could be

 

When he quietly posed for the painter

Did he think the world would want to know

The contemplations of his heart

Or for which way the winds of his soul did blow?

 This is an entry for One Shot Wednesday.

Comments on: "Contemplation Of The Smoker" (22)

  1. Fun, whimsical ‘artist-meanders’ work. 🙂

  2. We really don’t know, do we? And we really shouldn’t judge, either. (However, it is hard for me not to think that smokers are slowly killing themselves…)

    Love how you illustrate the many possibilities for one life.

  3. He does look quite serene, like he might be resting and reflecting. I like your ponderings here, and especially the question in the final stanza. I do wonder that sometimes, about people who posed for paintings that then became famous.

  4. I love the idea of the winds of his soul and what direction they blow.

  5. He was enjoying his pipe at midday, a gentle smile almost escaping him at the thought of an artist actually wanting to paint him?

  6. I love the way you build a story through questions.

  7. a very interesting take…especially, if one knows van gogh’s background! like the fun tone of it 🙂

  8. Loved this. Great reflections.

  9. ..for which way the winds of his soul did blow?… i loved this last line..it’s beautiful and i loved your idea of exploring his personality..he for sure was an interesting man who had some stories to tell, one can see it in his eyes

  10. I think he was pondering:
    “Am I in the no-smoking section?”

    Interesting contemplations, suzikate!

  11. One never knows…that’s why whenever someone stops you on the street and wants to take you home to paint your portrait…you should agree!

  12. Dear Suzicate

    You got the essence of the painting in so beautiful way.. I could almost hear me thinking while Van Gogh painted … Like it so much.. Thanks for sharing..

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  13. signed .............bkm said:

    makes one think at what type of life the painter had, what were his thoughts and actions…nice one shot Suzi….bkm

  14. Goor morning from the old continent.My name is Vladimiro Rinaldi,I am a poet and art photographer.

    I have enjoying your creative poetry and images web site,

    I think it is good. I live in Rome,but I am writing to you from Copenhage,here I stay at present.

    I enjoyed all the written and published poems in your web site,and I haveenjoyed the images too.

    “Contemplation of a smoker”

    is your present for the painted personage or to his authourm
    ,the master Duch painter Vincent Vasn Gogh.

    He would have surelly enjoyed and appreciated the poem .Thank you also in name of Vincent Van Gogh,he is one of my favourite artists.

    When I stay in Amsterdam,at the Van Gogh museum, I always feel emotioned watching his paintings.

    I have also a web site and a blog for you and all the people who want to visit it and enjoy(or suffer…,I hope not) my web site and the blog.It is in English too.

    My web site is http://www.apoesidi,com,itis a poetry and psycology and social web siet of poetry and a blog is also included in the web site.

    It is not as good as yours.I really can not yet know how to make it better and let it run.

    .I would like very much to make it better,it is not easy for me(a beginner in webs)and also many languages are there included for a poem title is apoesidi,The same title I gave my web site of poetry.For thepoetry side itis in many languages,including English,translators of poetry were poets in their alive verson,from different countries.The most we are the better,united we stand.

    You are welcome visiting myweb site,in case you want. You and everybody wlawe who love poetry and art (and environment,nature)ar welcome.

    Sorry for my possible orthography mistakes in English.

    Chin up,go on,

    Poets from all the world
    I love you all.

    Vladimiro Rinaldi
    .
    – Poetry is as beautiful as a cathedral-
    somebody wrote.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

