SuziCate's Musings

Tiny Skull Of Yesteryear

Skull With Burning Cigarette by Van Gogh

My two brothers shared a room

Secrets and hidden treasures

Unknown world for me to explore

Off limits to me of course

Getting caught was my only doom

Forbidden objects, my pleasures

Curiosity led me beyond the door

I was often removed by force

But while I was in there

The world hadn’t a care

The closet shelf or drawers in the chest

Held the one article I loved above the rest

The tiny skull that fit in my hand

I only needed to light the smoke

And he puffed out rings

Then his eyes lit an evil red

No matter that my butt be tanned

If I got burned in fire I poked

Or other ills nosiness brings

And scary visions in my head

Sometimes fragile objects break

With dear consequences to pay

I lived for the room of mischief- make

As long as I had light of day

Put me in there in dark of night

I would tremor and shake with fright

A little girl who was a rampant prier

Was not one who was a likely complier

So when I nightmare of evil red eyes

Or tiny smoke rings lifting in air

I bother not to let out screams or cries

Because revenge of skulls is never fair

So was the skull of Halloween a trick or a treat?

Well, is smoke a burn or just a little heat?

Prompt Halloween – Trick or Treat

This weeks words are Fragile, Rampant, and Tremor.

Comments on: "Tiny Skull Of Yesteryear" (30)

  1. Scary and mysterious. Quite an adventure lighting a cigarette for a skull. Happy Halloween.

    http://wordsworthmillions.wordpress.com/2010/11/01/halloween-payback/

  2. Scary stuff, I’d be having nightmares… The detail in that painting is amazing!

  3. Dear Suzicate.. this one is wonderful… I liked it very much..and the last line was perfect…
    Thanks for sharing the image too.

    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    Twitter: @VerseEveryDay
    Blog: http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com

  4. Would you perchance be talking of getting caught in our brother’s room? I so remember the consequences of that!

  5. brothers shared a room,
    buried
    removed by force…..

    powerful imagery…

    breath taking lines.
    Thanks for sharing.

    xx

  6. Jessicas Japes said:

    Very cute! Liked the imagery.
    It’s bad enough venturing into my sister’s room, I’m glad I have no brothers!

    http://jessicasjapes.wordpress.com/2010/11/01/halloween-fright/

    • Boys hit harder than girls but at least they don’t pull hair. I didn’t get hit often though because I was much younger…they easily scared me off with a mean look!

  7. I also recognize that picture as the cover of the David Sedaris book, “When You Are Engulfed in Flames” (which I understand is teriffic, but which I have yet to read)

    Nice Potluck entry, suzicate!

  8. Fun and enjoyable read…your words made me smile…thank you. (^_^)

  9. The mood you created here…completely eerie. Masterful!

  10. I love this one–very scary descriptions! Love the unanswered questions.

    Mine is here. http://razzamadazzle.wordpress.com/2010/10/31/samhain/

  11. Sibling space, always sacrad beyond our wildest dreams… especially when forbidden from our sight. Nicely written.

  12. Perfect picture for this! Ah the allure of the forbidden – irresistible!

  13. Good one! I like the clear imagery of the little one sneaky into the bedroom- lots of suspense as many of us remember that feeling!

  14. This poem made me miss being a mischievous kid. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  15. Please help giving (belated) birthday wishes to 3 or 4 fellow poets:

    http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/happy-birthday-eric-dom/

    Thanks a lot for the support.
    Happy November!
    Your presence adds light to our space, keep shining!
    xxx

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

